2 Comments

Small Steps

I am happy to announce that I will finally be published! Regrettably, not my novel, not yet, but a short story that I wrote last year, set in a beach side town in southern Spain, where I vacationed a couple of years ago, while researching my second novel. Two journals have expressed interest and as they are located on either side of the Atlantic, the coverage will be great for promoting my name within different literary communities.  Once I have links to the publications, I will provide them. In the mean time, here is a link to my first official publication, a book review on The Blind Man’s Garden by Nadeem Aslam on The Quick Brown Fox blog spot.

http://quick-brown-fox-canada.blogspot.ca/2015/03/the-blind-mans-garden-by-nadeem-aslam.html#links

For anyone within an hour’s drive of the GTA, there is a wealth of information and creative writing activities to be found on Brian Henry’s blog. While writing can be such a solitary endeavor, with days, weeks, months spent sequestered in a private writing space, networking with other writers is crucial to growth as a writer, as I have found over the last year. As they say, misery loves company and who better to commiserate with and learn from then other’s who have spent years mastering their craft before they make their break, those lucky enough to enjoy that sweet taste of success. For a person who knows too well that patience is a virtue she lacks, I have been remarkably steadfast in my desire to taste a mouthwatering slice of success.

2 comments on “Small Steps

  1. Wonderful news Karen! Will you have to decide which place to have your short story published or will it be published in both. Looking forward to getting the links

    Like

Leave a Reply

