4 Comments

One Writer’s Inspiration

Portugal and Spain 457 (800x531)

 

Since the inspiration for my first novel came from a safari I did a couple of years ago, I decided to use my travels for inspiration for future novels. With this in mind, I made sure that Granada was on the itinerary of a recent trip I took to Spain. For ever since reading Philippa Gregory’s The Constant Princess, I have wanted to see the Moorish palace that she describes in the first few pages of that novel. The Alhambra was everything I had dreamed of but even as I walked through the rooms, I had a niggling feeling that what I was seeing was but a ghost of its former splendor. This sensation combined with a fortuitous visit to Seville’s Real Alcazar, which though not as grand as the Alhambra, is better preserved, gave me the idea for my current novel. Though the plot line has been laid out, the editing demands of my first novel and my inability to multitask, leaves me chomping at the bit to get down to the business of weaving my next story.

4 comments on “One Writer’s Inspiration

  1. I loved Granada and The Alhambra! I studied Spanish in Granada for a few months and would sometimes just walk up to the parts of the castle and grounds that didn’t require an entrance ticket. I can’t wait to read your story!

  2. I envy you! I would like to return this year and do just that. Spend a few days right in the Alhambra and walk around, get a better feel for the place. Kinda hard to do that in half a day, when you are following a tour guide around. After reading the books on the Alhambra on my return, I realized I saw maybe a quarter of the place, so would like to get a private guided tour. Especially as the tour guide will play an integral part of my story! 🙂

  3. Beautiful photo. I lived in Europe for 5 years and images like these start me reminiscing on all the sightseeing we were able to do while we were there. Great place to go for inspiration.

    • You were fortunate to have done so. I think that living in another culture gives you a perspective on life that you would not have otherwise. It helps you appreciate what you have but also to be more tolerant of differing world views. Travel is the next best thing, but I am starting to find that trying to see it all in one go is less than satisfying. I have to come to the sad realization that I will not get to see the whole planet, but that I must pick and choose a few choice spots and get to know those quite well. 😦

Leave a Reply

